Design Name & Logo Design

Long before (well, at least a year before) I started making anything at all I thought about making a whole host of items and maybe putting them up on Etsy for sale.  I decided on the name Pokie & Bean for my store and the labeling of my products.  Pokie comes from my childhood and now lifelong nickname lovingly given to me by my dad and Bean is the nickname I’ve used for my little guy since his first ultra-sound image remarkably resembled a lima bean.  I attribute this name to him so much, in fact, that I constantly wear a bean shaped pearl as a reminder of the little boy who stole my heart about a year ago.

The Bean Shaped Pearl

Then, kind of unexpectedly, as soon as I started making handbags people started asking if I was going to make any for sale.  The answer to that is, yes, at least I plan on it…someday.  I have visions of selling my own custom, handmade designs on Etsy and maybe doing craft shows now and then but for now I’m working on enhancing my craft.

Regardless of the when and where details, I wanted to have a logo as soon as possible so I could sew fancy little fabric labels into all of my bags and give them a little professional (and mighty cute) feeling.  A friend of mine graciously offered to help and painstakingly changed little details of what I had pictured in my head.  I sketched it out and she made them digitally come to life.

This is my full size logo, drawn and then digital (for inside sew in tags):

This is my mini-logo for small items and sew in tags to stick out of the side of a bag:

So, that is the story of why my creations are labeled with Pokie & Bean and the reason for the logo design.  Hope you enjoy seeing it all come to life as much as I am.

This entry was posted in Design. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment